KLCC. Photo: rmlowe, Creative Commons Attribution License.
KLCC. Photo: rmlowe, Creative Commons Attribution License.

The Eleventh Malaysia Plan (11MP) was tabled last week in Parliament. It is the final five-year plan before 2020: the year when Malaysia aims to achieve its goal of becoming a developed nation and high income economy.

In the latest five year plan, the government has emphasised six thrusts: inclusivity, improving wellbeing, accelerating human capital development; green growth; strengthening infrastructure and re-engineering economic growth. But what does all this mean for a resident of the Klang Valley?

One of the major highlights of the plan involves public transport. According to government statistics, there has been an increase of 31.7% in the number of people who use urban rail systems in the Klang Valley since 2010. For the next five years, the government is expecting a 40% public transport modal share in Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley and 20% in other cities. This means that they hope 40% of all travelers will be using public transport by the year 2020.

Part of this public transport growth includes the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT) line, more commonly known as the MRT.  The first line – stretching from Sungai Buloh to Kajang through 35 stations, is expected to be complete in 2016. The second line, on the other hand, will encompass Sungai Buloh to Serdang to Putrajaya. Construction for this line is expected to begin in 2016. The existing LRT system will also gain a third line, and this line will pass from Bandar Utama to Klang.

However, the 11MP also includes building two new expressways in the Klang Valley: Sungai Besi-Ulu Kelang Elevated Expressway and Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Expressway. Sungai Besi-Ulu Kelang Elevated Expressway, which will be 31.8 km in length, will begin at the Ulu Klang interchange and will overlap with the MRR2 highway.

The Damansara-Shah Alam Expressway, on the other hand, will begin at the Puncak Perdana Shah Alam intersection and end at the Penchala Interchange. A total of 3,000 km of highway is expected to be built by 2020, including the ones outside of Klang Valley.

In terms of digital infrastructure, government has proposed that 95% of Malaysia’s populated areas will have access to high-speed internet by 2020. On top of that, the 11MP includes a target to make this broadband affordable – targeting 1% of gross national income (GNI) per capita for fixed broadband cost.

One of these initiatives will include the high-speed broadband 2, which will run at 100 megabits per second (Mbps) and will cover all state capitals and selected high-impact growth areas. Another two initiatives are suburban broadband and digital terrestrial television (DTT schemes). All of these schemes are expected to begin next year onwards.

What else was revealed under the new plan? 11MP revealed a new development project  known as “Malaysia Vision Valley”. This will be built on a proposed area spanning 108,000 acres and will cover Nilai, Seremban and Port Dickson. This is likely to create new job opportunities and housing options for those who currently work in and around the Klang Valley.

In line with its green growth strategies, 11MP will also see the government starting to roll out waste separation in households. This is to enable more recycling, with a goal of 22% of waste to be recycled per household by 2020. As early as September this year, certain states will start rolling out waste separation.

Dhabitah Zainal

Read this next: KL opens new South West cycle lane

bike lane cropped