myRapid bus selangorku
Photo courtesy of myRapidKL.

Besides the eagerly awaited new electric train service that connects KL and Butterworth, commuters in Selangor can also enjoy a new free bus service called Bas Selangorku. Operating as of 1 July, the free bus covers routes in Klang, Shah Alam and Subang Jaya.

The service will be operational from 6am to 9pm daily, with a frequency of 15 minutes. It aims to cater the lower income groups, students as well as senior citizens who wish to commute around town, especially during peak hours.

A total of three buses will be operating in Klang, whereas Shah Alam and Subang Jaya will each have four buses operating. The buses will go through 22 stops in Shah Alam along a 20.2 km route, which begins from Section 19 KTM Station to Wisma Jakel in Section 7.

In Subang Jaya, buses will go through 19 stops along a 15.5 km route, which starts from USJ 6 to the Subang Jaya KTM Station.

As for the service in Klang, there will be 12 stops along an 8.5 km route, starting from Wisma Tahfiz and looping back to the same location.

Selangor Investment, Industry (SME) & Commerce and Transportation committee chairman Datuk Teng Chang Khim said the state government has employed the services of Rapid Bus Sdn Bhd to provide the service, which costs RM3.6 million a year.

According to Teng, they are also planning to expand the service to Kajang and Ampang by the end of this year. Aside from Bas Selangorku, the existing bus services that commuters can also enjoy now include PJ Bus City Service in Petaling Jaya, which carries around 8,000 passengers daily.

Dhabitah Zainal

Read this next: 5 Ramadhan Food Delivery Services in Klang Valley


More from Poskod.MY: Five Malaysian brands to shop this Raya

Pikat KL